h i n t e r l a n d

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

index archives profile notes rings links email
diaryland wyin alonelyplace guestbook deconstrukt suture777 rhythmatic
2005-12-27 : 1:32 a.m.
christmas week
just got back from LI for Christmas. gotta pack up again and go to Pennsylvania tomorrow which seems sort of cool and sort of not for many reasons. My Dad is starting radiation the day I come back and then I'm gonna drive from CT back down to Long Island to take care of him. I don't think my sibling quite 'gets' the whole cancer idea.
My week was kind of sickening stressful but pretty nice too. Hadn't seen my Dad in a month and he is in quite a bit more pain than he was in before. Even though we did some nice things together. The first night Dave and I went with Paula and dad to a fancy restaurant on the water. Second nightwe went to see the chronicles of narnia and then cooked the ole' fashioned steak dinner together. Then that night we went to church for midnight mass, which was weird since we're all heathens of some stripe, but it is the old wooden Lutheran church that my family founded. The nicest part was at the end when they turned out all the lights and everyone had candles and sang "Silent Night" in German.On x-mas we went to my uncle's house and drank a bunch of wine and ate ham and told many terrible racist jokes until we all started going nutso by the end of it.
My 87 yr old neighbor died the week before and her family only wanted her liquid assets and left all her possessions to be junked. She and my downstairs neighbor were very close and the family dumped all the funerary responsibilities and house cleaning on him which was shit, so we helped him. We didn't want to throw everything away so now we've got her wedding albums and fine china and stuff like that. Our neighbor was also so kind as to give us her pain meds and i believe i'll be off to take some with some nice avalon riesling.

CURRENT MOON

moon phase info